The ASME Next Awards honor outstanding achievement by magazine journalists under the age of 30. Sponsored by the American Society of Magazine Editors, the ASME Next Awards were established in 2016 to support the development of print and digital magazine media by recognizing young journalists who have already demonstrated extraordinary promise at the beginning of their careers. Honorees receive medals bearing the likeness of “Elephant,” the symbol of the National Magazine Awards.


Alex Lau, Staff Photographer, Bon Appétit
Nominated by Adam Rapoport, Editor in Chief, Bon Appétit

Judges’ Citation: Alex Lau’s bold, consistent style and his ability to capture the beauty of food in the environment in which it was made now shapes the visual identity of Bon Appétit. Whether flying to Seoul on two days’ notice to photograph Korean fried chicken or shooting during service at a restaurant with no natural light, Lau achieves striking results.

Olivia Nuzzi, Washington Correspondent, New York
Nominated by Jebediah Reed, Deputy Editor,

Judges’ Citation: With a voice and sensibility uniquely suited to the era—not to mention her fearlessness and feistiness (in print and on social media), her reporting skills and her ability to gain access to D.C. players up to and including the president—Olivia Nuzzi’s work for New York magazine distills this hallucinogenic moment in politics with sophistication and wit.

Ernest Owens, Writer at Large, Philadelphia
Nominated by Tom McGrath, Editor, Philadelphia

Judges’ Citation: With honest precision and exceptional reporting and writing, Ernest Owens tackles issues of race and social justice in a way not often seen in print or online. From being ignored at restaurants in “Dining While Black” to coming out of the closet in “Three Outs,” Owens displays a bravery and candor that the world needs more of.

Jeremy Raff, Video Producer, The Atlantic
Nominated by Kasia Cieplak-Mayr von Baldegg, Executive Producer, Atlantic Studios

Judges’ Citation: The winner of an Edward R. Murrow award in 2017, Jeremy Raff has already been nominated twice for National Magazine Awards, in 2018 and 2019, for his work for The Atlantic. Raff is also a gifted writer whose articles often accompany his videos. Describing his own work, Raff wrote, “I try to make stories about the people, places and ideas that complicate first impressions.”

Elaine Teng, General Editor, ESPN The Magazine
Nominated by Scott Burton, Executive Editor, ESPN The Magazine

Judges’ Citation: Elaine Teng is journalism’s version of a triathlete—translator, writer and editor all in one. A fluent speaker of Mandarin and Spanish, Teng often uses her language skills to report where others can’t. Teng originated the e-sports beat at ESPN and wrote an in-depth feature story on the gaming sensation Ninja that became one of the magazine’s most-shared stories in 2018.


Judging Leader
Jessica Pels, Editor in Chief, Cosmopolitan
Andrea Chambers, Director, New York University Center for Publishing
Kelly Conniff, Editor,
Jon Fine, Executive Director, Editorial, Inc.
Samantha Henig, Editorial Director, Audio, The New York Times
Claire Howorth, Executive Editor, Vanity Fair
Stephanie Kaplan Lewis, Co-Founder, CEO and Editor in Chief, Her Campus Media
Jacklyn Monk, Executive Editor, ESSENCE
Caroline Smith, Editor, Photography and Visuals, Topic
Ganda Suthivarakom, Managing Editor, Wirecutter
Siung Tjia, Design Director, The New Republic
Dan Wakeford, Deputy Editor, People
Allison Wright, Executive Editor, Virginia Quarterly Review

Titles and affiliations listed were at time of judging